The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games is a book series by American novelist Suzanne Collins. The first book of the series was published in 2008, and the last one in 2010. The book series was adapted into 4 movies between 2012 and 2015. This posts covers the books of the series, presented in the correct reading order (in this case the suggested reading order, the publication order, and the chronological order are the same).


The Hunger Games
Suzanne Collins really knows how to write an impossible to put down book. I literally spent every free second reading the book for few days in a row, losing precious hours of sleep reading it. I was afraid I was going to get in trouble with my sweet half, but he started the book at the same time, and got even more addicted than me, so I guess things worked out at the end. This is not the type of book that shake you to the core, it has not a great message or lesson to deliver. It is just an action packed thrilling ride, where each single chapter finishes with a cliffhanger, and each page make you want to read more and more. It’s not the kind of book that make you a better person or help you in the path towards understanding, but it is pure enjoyment.
The Hunger Games is set in a post apocalyptic North America, where a central government keeps 12 districts in a state of semi-slavery. As a punishment for an ancient rebellion two kids from each district are selected each year and sent into a televised death match, where the only survivor is going to be declared the winner.
Buy: [Amazon]

Catching Fire
While still enjoyable and hard to put down, this is not as original as the first volume of the series. The plot is quite similar to the previous one and it really reads like an encore. This second installment does not focus entirelly on Katniss and Peeta survival at the games like the previous one, but more space is given to the oppression of the districts and to the growing tension and rebellion.
Buy: [Amazon]

This is a great conclusion for one of the most enjoyable book series of the decades. This third installment does not follow the format of the previous two books (that was getting already a little repetitive), but instead focus on Katniss rescued from the Quarter Quell, her willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay, no matter what the personal cost.
Buy: [Amazon]

Relevant links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *